Council of Europe

Council of Europe (CoE)

The Council of Europe, founded in 1949, is the main European organization for the defence of human rights and rule of law and promotion of democracy on the continent. The organization unites 46 countries and 5 observers. All member states of the Council of Europe have signed the European Convention on Human Rights. The organization’s headquarters is in Strasbourg (France). 

The Council of Europe advocates freedom of expression and of the media, freedom of assembly, equality, and the protection of minorities. It has launched campaigns on issues such as child protection, online hate speech, and the rights of the Roma, Europe’s largest minority. The Council of Europe helps member states fight corruption and terrorism and undertake necessary judicial reforms. Its group of constitutional experts, known as the Venice Commission, offers legal advice to countries throughout the world.

The Council of Europe promotes human rights through international conventions, such as the Convention on Preventing and Combating Violence against Women and Domestic Violence and the Convention on Cybercrime. It monitors member states’ progress in these areas and makes recommendations through independent expert monitoring bodies. Council of Europe member states no longer apply the death penalty.

For more information visit the website of the Council of Europe: Council of Europe